Chitkara Open Access Journals - Blog

Distinguishing Features of Radioactive Compound Nucleus Decays within the Dynamical Cluster decay Model

Dynamical Cluster decay Model


In this paper, we are interested to study the distinguishing features of the decaying radioactive compound nuclei 246Bk* and 220Th*, using the Dynamical Cluster-decay Model (DCM) with deformation β and non-coplanar degree-of-freedom Φ. 246Bk* and 220Th* have so-far been studied within the DCM, using quadrupole deformations (β2i), “optimum” orientations (θopt) of the two nuclei lying in the same plane (Φ=0o), which shows that there is a non-compound nucleus (nCN) content in the observed data. The first turning point Ra (equivalently, the neck-length ∆R in Ra=R1+R2+∆R), which fixes both the preformation and penetration paths, is used to best fit the measured evaporation residue (ER) and fusion-fission (ff) cross sections, σER, σff, respectively, in 220Th* and 246Bk*, formed via different entrance channels. In this work, we subsequently add higher multipole deformations, the octupole, and hexadecapole (β3i, β4i), `compact’ orientations θci and Φ≠00, and look for their effects on the nCN contribution predicted by the DCM calculations referenced above.


Hemdeep, Sahila Chopra, Pooja Kaushal and Raj K. Gupta


Dynamical cluster-decay model; deformed non-coplanar fragments; non-compound nucleus effects; radioactive nuclei.


Link to open this paper


  • B. B. Singh, M. K. Sharma, and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 77, 054613 (2008).
  • R. K. Gupta and M. Bansal, Int. Rev. of Phys. (I.RE.PHY) 5, 74 (2011).
  • M. Bansal, Ph.D. Thesis, Panjab University, Chandigarh, (2012).
  • Hemdeep, S. Chopra, A. Kaur, and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 95, 014609 (2017).
  • R. K. Gupta, M. Manhas and W. Greiner, Phys. Rev. C 73, 054307 (2006).
  • C. C. Sahm, et al., Nucl. Phys. A 441, 316 (1985).
  • D. Vermeulen, et al., Z. Phys. A 318, 157 (1984).
  • G. N. Knyazheva, et al., Phys. Rev. C 75, 064602 (2007).
  • D. A. Mayorov, et al., Phys. Rev. C 90, 024602 (2014).
  • P. Kaushal, S. Chopra, Hemdeep, and R. K. Gupta, Proceedings DAE-BRNS Symposium on Nucl. Phys. 62, 480 (2017).
  • R. K. Gupta, in Clusters in Nuclei, Lecture Notes in Physics 818, edited by C. Beck, Vol. I, (Springer Verlag, Berlin, 2010), pp. 223–265.
  • R. K. Gupta, R. Kumar, N. K. Dhiman, M. Balasubramaniam, W. Scheid, and C. Beck, Phys. Rev. C 68, 014610 (2003).
  • R. K. Gupta, M. Balasubramaniam, R. Kumar, N. Singh, M. Manhas, and W. Greiner, J. Phys. G: Nucl. Part. Phys. 31, 631 (2005).
  • H. Kroeger and W. Scheid, J. Phys. G 6, L85 (1980).
  • S. S. Malik and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 39, 1992 (1989).
  • N. J. Davidson, S. S. Hsiao, J. Markram, H. G. Miller, and Y. Tzeng, Nucl. Phys. A 570, 61c (1994).
  • M. Balasubramaniam, R. Kumar, R. K. Gupta, C. Beck, and W. Scheid, J. Phys. G: Nucl. Part. Phys. 29, 2703 (2003).
  • G. Audi, A. H. Wapstra, and C. Thiboult, Nucl. Phys. A 729, 337 (2003).
  • P. Möller, J. R. Nix, W. D. Myers, and W. J. Swiatecki, At. Data Nucl. Data Tables 59, 185 (1995)
  • W. Myers and W. J. Swiatecki, Nucl. Phys. 81, 1 (1966).
  • S. Jensen and J. Damgaard, Nucl. Phys. A, 203, 578 (1973).
  • R. K. Gupta, N. Singh, and M. Manhas, Phys. Rev. C 70, 034608 (2004).
  • S. Chopra, M. Bansal, M. K. Sharma, and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 88, 014615 (2013).
  • M. Manhas and R. K. Gupta, Phys. Rev. C 72, 024606 (2005).